Since January 2011 the Ohio General Assembly has seen a tremendous turnover. Currently there are 14 newly appointed lawmakers and 1 vacant senate seat, however those numbers could easily change by the time I’m done writing this blog entry. 

Being a legislator of the Ohio General Assembly is a certainly a prestigious public honor.  Unfortunately, due mostly to term limits, lawmakers must begin planning the next stage of their political careers all too soon after being elected. An opportunity to switch legislative chambers, run for congressional office or work in the Governor’s administration can be a very attractive prospect.  

As you can see from the list below, a great deal of members have chosen to pursue other political opportunities instead of completing their term in the legislature.

See a summary of the brand new lawmakers that were appointed within the past year.  Click here (House or Senate) to see their full biographies.


State Representative Dorothy Liggett Pelanda (R – Marysville)

Pelanda was appointed to the 83rd House District on July 26, 2011. She’s an attorney that established Criminal Indigents of Union County, which provides legal assistance to indigent residents. However the majority of her legal work is focused on Domestic Relations.


State Representative Brian Hill (R – Zaneville)

Hill helps run his family farming business and is a former Muskingum County Commissioner. His House District encompasses Coshocton County and most of Muskingum County. He was appointed on July 28, 2011.


State Representative Margaret Conditt (R – Liberty Township)

Conditt is a former Procter & Gamble Company Manager that represents the 55th House District. She’s also involved in numerous activities with her church, St Maximilian Kolbe Catholic Parish, served on the board of Catholic Charities, and is a jail chaplain. She was appointed to the House on June 8, 2011.


Senator Larry Obhof (R – Montville Township)

Obhof is an attorney at Baker & Hostetler and an Adjunct Professor at Case Western Reserve Law School. He represents the 22nd Senate District and was appointed on February 1, 2011.


Senator Dave Burke (R – Marysville)

Dave Burke is a pharmacist and drug store owner. He recently moved from the House to the Senate and now represents the 26th Senate District. He was appointed July 13, 2011.


Senator Troy Balderson (R – Zaneville)

Balderson’s family has owned and operated a farm in Salem Township for several generations. He also co-owns an automotive dealership that has been in the family for three generations. Balderson was appointed to the 20th Senate District, on September 26, 2011.


Senator Bill Coley (R – Liberty Township)

Coley recently switched legislative chambers and now represents all of Butler County. In addition to his lengthy legislative career he also works as a commercial litigation attorney. Coley was appointed to the 4th Senate District on May 24, 2011.


State Representative Nicholas Celebrezze (D – Parma)

Nicholas Celebrezze comes from a long line of public officials includes his father retired Cuyahoga County Domestic Relations Judge James Celebrezze and sister Leslie Ann Celebrezze, current Cuyahoga County Domestic Relations Judge. Prior to his appointment to the 15th House District, Nicholas served on Parma City Council. He was appointed on January 25, 2011.


Louis Terhar (R – Green Township)

Terhar was appointed to the 30th House District on September 13, 2011. He’s a former President and CEO of Integris Metals, the largest North American distributor of stainless steel and aluminum, however he currently works as the Managing Director of a strategic business planning firm.


Jack Cera (D – Bellare)

Although Cera was appointed to the 95th House District on December 15, 2011, he previously served in the Ohio House from 1983 – 1996. After leaving the House in the mid 90’s he worked as the Belmont County Job and Family Services Workforce Development Director.


Mary Brigid Matheney (R – Bainbridge)

Matheney is an attorney that has served as Geauga County Assistant Prosecutor and as a law clerk for Judge Michael Corrigan. She was recently appointed to 98th House District on February 14, 2011.


Senate District 17 (Republican)

Senator Dave Daniels was recently appointed to head the Ohio Department of Agriculture. Therefore the 17th Senate District is currently vacant.


Anthony Devitis (R – Green)

Devitis is a co-owner of three businesses: DeVitis & Sons, Inc., an Italian specialty retail store; Devico, LLC., a real estate partnership; and DeVitis Fine Italian Foods, LLC., a food distribution company. The former Green City Council Member was appointed to the 43rd House District in December 2011.


Philip Rose (R – Athens)

Rose is a retired Vinton County Probate and Juvenile Court of Common Pleas Judge that was appointed House District 87. Rose has agreed to hold the seat until the March 6th Primary.


Lou Gentile (D – Steubenville)

Gentile is a former staff member under the Strickland Administration that was recently elected to the Ohio House of Representative. Soon after being elected to the Ohio House in November 2010, he was appointed to the 30th Senate District in December 2011.


Leave a comment